

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended for appointment of (i) Shri Justice Cheppudira Monnappa Poonacha, (ii) Shri Justice Anil Bheemsen Katti, (iii) Shri Justice Chandrashekhar Mrutyunjaya Joshi, (iv) Shri Justice Umesh Manjunathbhat Adiga, and (v) Shri Justice Talkad Girigowda Shivashankare Gowda, Additional Judges as permanent Judges of the High Court of Karnataka and for appointment of Shri Justice Gurusiddaiah Basavaraja as an Additional Judge of the High Court of Karnataka for a fresh term of one year in the following terms:

On 20 January 2024, the Collegium of the High Court of Karnataka unanimously recommended that five Additional Judges be appointed as permanent Judges of that High Court and the term of another Additional Judge viz. Shri Justice Gurusiddaiah Basavaraja, be extended for a further period of one year. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Karnataka have conveyed their agreement with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the functioning of the High Court of Karnataka were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment in terms of the recommendation referred to above.



The Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium assessed the judgments of the above Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, we have scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record. Having considered all aspects of the matter and on an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Cheppudira Monnappa Poonacha, (ii) Anil Bheemsen Katti, (iii) Chandrashekhar Mrutyunjaya Joshi, (iv) Umesh Manjunathbhat Adiga, and (v) Talkad Girigowda Shivashankare Gowda, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges. As regards Shri Justice Gurusiddaiah Basavaraja, the Collegium is fully in agreement with the recommendation of the Collegium of the High Court and is of the view that he deserves to be appointed as Additional Judge for a fresh term of one year.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend as under:

(i) S/Shri Justices (i) Cheppudira Monnappa Poonacha, (ii) Anil Bheemsen Katti, (iii) Chandrashekhar Mrutyunjaya Joshi, (iv) Umesh Manjunathbhat Adiga, and (v) Talkad Girigowda



Shivashankare Gowda, Additional Judges be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of Karnataka, and

(ii) Shri Justice Gurusiddaiah Basavaraja be appointed as an Additional Judge of the High Court of Karnataka for a fresh term of one year with effect from 16 August 2024.

The present resolution is signed by two members of the Collegium as Mr Justice B R Gavai is presently travelling away from Delhi. He has, however, verbally conveyed his agreement with the above proposal. His written consent would be placed on the record in due course. The proposal may be processed without waiting for the written consent of the third member of the Collegium since the term of one of the Additional Judges is going to expire on 16 April 2024.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(BR Gavai), J

03 April 2024.