

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended that five Additional Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, be appointed as permanent Judges of that High Court in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Saurabh Srivastava,
- (ii) Shri Justice Om Prakash Shukla,
- (iii) Shri Justice Mohd. Azhar Husain Idrisi,
- (iv) Smt. Justice Jyotsna Sharma, and
- (v) Shri Justice Surendra Singh-I.

On 1 May 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad unanimously recommended, *inter alia*, that the above Additional Judges be appointed as permanent Judges. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh concurred with the above recommendation.

The Judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad were consulted in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.



Bearing in mind the report of the Judgment Assessment Committee dated 12 September 2023, the Supreme Court Collegium in its meeting held on 14 September 2023 decided to defer consideration of the proposal of their appointment as permanent Judges.

Over three months having passed after the deferment of the proposal of confirmation of the above Additional Judges as permanent Judges, their recent judgments were called for by the Chief Justice of India with a view to assess their performance as Additional Judges. Ten judgments of each of the five Additional Judges received from the High Court have been assessed by a Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court. The Committee has assessed the quality of the judgments as very good/good.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, we have scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record including the report dated 4 March 2024 of the Judgment Assessment Committee.

Having considered all aspects of the matter and on an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Saurabh Srivastava, (ii) Om Prakash Shukla (iii) Mohd. Azhar Husain Idrisi, (iv) Smt Jyotsna



Sharma and (v) Surendra Singh-I, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(B R Gavai), J

12 March 2024