

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended the appointment of the following three Additional Judges of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh, as permanent Judges of that High Court, in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Boppana Varaha Lakshmi Narasimha Chakravarthi,
- (ii) Shri Justice Tallapragada Mallikarjuna Rao, and
- (iii) Shri Justice Duppala Venkata Ramana.

On 24 February 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh unanimously recommended that the three Additional Judges whose names are set out above be appointed as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of Andhra Pradesh concurred with the above recommendation.

A Committee of two judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above Additional Judges. The Committee has rated the quality of their judgments as "good."



In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the functioning of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

On 17 August 2023, the Supreme Court Collegium having regard to the views of the consultee-Judges and the fact that the above Additional Judges had served only for about a year, deferred consideration of the above proposal.

Two senior-most Judges of the Supreme Court (outside the Collegium at the relevant time) held a personal interaction with Mr Justice D V Ramana on 29 January 2024. They perused the statements of judicial disposal and the judgments authored by Justice D V Ramana during his tenure of about one and a half year as an Additional Judge in two High Courts. They have, therefore, recommended his confirmation as a permanent Judge of the High Court.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, we have scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record. Having considered all aspects of the matter and on an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the considered view that



the above Additional Judges deserve to be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that:

- A. Shri Justice Boppana Varaha Lakshmi Narasimha Chakravarthi and Shri Justice Tallapragada Mallikarjuna Rao, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh against two of the existing vacancies; and
- B. Shri Justice Duppala Venkata Ramana, Additional Judge (PHC: Andhra Pradesh), be appointed as a permanent Judge of the High Court of Madhya Pradesh against one of the existing vacancies available in the High Court of Andhra Pradesh.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(B R Gavai), J

13 February 2024.