SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Collegium of the Supreme Court recommended the names of three Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges of the High Court at Calcutta in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Krishna Rao,
- (ii) Shri Justice Bibhas Ranjan De, and
- (iii) Shri Justice Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee,

On 14 March 2023, the Chief Justice of the High Court at Calcutta made the recommendation in consultation with his two senior-most colleagues. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of West Bengal have conveyed their agreement with the recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the functioning of the High Court at Calcutta have been consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above additional judges for being appointed as permanent judges.

The Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above-named Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent judges, we have scrutinized the material placed on record. Having considered all aspects of the matter

and on an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Krishna Rao, (ii) Bibhas Ranjan De, and (iii) Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court at Calcutta.

