SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Collegium of the Supreme Court recommended the names of five Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges of the Gauhati High Court in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Kakheto Sema,
- (ii) Shri Justice Devashis Baruah,
- (iii) Ms. Justice Malasri Nandi,
- (iv) Ms. Justice Marli Vankung, and
- (v) Shri Justice Arun Dev Choudhury.

On 10 May 2023, the Collegium of the Gauhati High Court unanimously recommended the above-named five Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Ministers and Governors of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh have concurred with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, Judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the functioning of the Gauhati High Court were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

A Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of

the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the abovenamed Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, the Collegium has scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record. Having regard to all aspects of the proposal, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Kakheto Sema, (ii) Devashis Baruah, (iii) Ms. Malasri Nandi, (iv) Ms. Marli Vankung, and (v) Arun Dev Choudhury, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Kakheto Sema, (ii) Devashis Baruah, (iii) Ms. Malasri Nandi, (iv) Ms. Marli Vankung, and (v) Arun Dev Choudhury, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the Gauhati High Court against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

12 July 2023