SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Collegium of the Supreme Court recommended the names of four Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges of the High Court of Kerala in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Basant Balaji,
- (ii) Shri Justice Chandrasekharan Kartha Jayachandran,
- (iii) Smt. Justice Sophy Thomas, and
- (iv) Shri Justice Puthen Veedu Gopala Pillai Ajithkumar.

On 17 March 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Kerala unanimously recommended the Additional Judges whose names are set out above for appointment as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Kerala have concurred with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, Judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the functioning of the High Court of Kerala were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

A Committee of two judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above-named Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, we have scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record. Having taken into consideration all aspects of the matter, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Basant Balaji (ii) Chandrasekharan Kartha Jayachandran, (iii) Smt. Sophy Thomas, and (iv) Puthen Veedu Gopala Pillai Ajithkumar, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Basant Balaji (ii) Chandrasekharan Kartha Jayachandran, (iii) Smt. Sophy Thomas, and (iv) Puthen Veedu Gopala Pillai Ajithkumar, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of Kerala against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

12 July 2023