

## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

The Collegium of the Supreme Court has recommended the names of seven Additional Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, for appointment as permanent judges in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Umesh Chandra Sharma,
- (ii) Smt Justice Renu Agarwal,
- (iii) Shri Justice Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra,
- (iv) Shri Justice Mayank Kumar Jain,
- (v) Shri Justice Shiv Shanker Prasad,
- (vi) Shri Justice Gajendra Kumar,
- (vii) Shri Justice Nalin Kumar Srivastava.

On 1 May 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad unanimously made the above recommendation. The Chief Minister and Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh have concurred with the recommendation.



In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent judges.

The Committee of two judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the Additional Judges for appointment as permanent judges, we have scrutinized the material placed on record including the opinion of the consultee-judges and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee. On an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Umesh Chandra Sharma, (ii) Smt. Renu



Agarwal, (iii) Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra, (iv) Mayank Kumar Jain, (v) Shiv Shanker Prasad, (vi) Gajendra Kumar, and (vii) Nalin Kumar Srivastava, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Umesh Chandra Sharma, (ii) Smt. Renu Agarwal, (iii) Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra, (iv) Mayank Kumar Jain, (v) Shiv Shanker Prasad, (vi) Gajendra Kumar, and (vii) Nalin Kumar Srivastava, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

14 September 2023