SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for the appointment of the following ten Additional Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Shri Justice Chandra Kumar Rai,
- 2. Shri Justice Krishan Pahal,
- 3. Shri Justice Sameer Jain,
- 4. Shri Justice Ashutosh Srivastava,
- 5. Shri Justice Subhash Vidyarthi,
- 6. Shri Justice Brij Raj Singh,
- 7. Shri Justice Shree Prakash Singh,
- 8. Shri Justice Vikas Budhwar,
- 9. Shri Justice Om Prakash Tripathi, and
- 10. Shri Justice Vikram D. Chauhan.

On 23 November 2022, the Collegium of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad unanimously recommended the above-named ten Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of Uttar Pradesh have concurred with the above recommendation.

In order to ascertain the fitness and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as Permanent Judges, consultation was held with a view to ascertain their suitability for elevation in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, with Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the judgments of the above-named Additional Judges, has submitted its report.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for their appointment as Permanent Judges, the Collegium has scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record including the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file. Having regard to all the relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that S/Shri Justices (1) Chandra Kumar Rai, (2) Krishan Pahal, (3) Sameer Jain, (4) Ashutosh Srivastava, (5) Subhash Vidyarthi, (6) Brij Raj Singh, (7) Shree Prakash Singh, (8) Vikas Budhwar, (9) Om Prakash Tripathi, and (10) Vikram D. Chauhan, Additional Judges, are suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (1) Chandra Kumar Rai, (2) Krishan Pahal, (3) Sameer Jain, (4) Ashutosh Srivastava, (5) Subhash Vidyarthi, (6) Brij Raj Singh, (7) Shree Prakash Singh, (8) Vikas Budhwar, (9) Om Prakash Tripathi, and (10) Vikram D. Chauhan, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(K.M. Joseph), J

15 February 2023

Minister for Law & Justice