## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

This file relates to the proposal for the appointment of the following five Additional Judges as Permanent Judges of the Madras High Court:

- 1. Mrs. Justice Sundaram Srimathy,
- 2. Shri Justice D. Bharatha Chakravarthy,
- 3. Shri Justice R. Vijayakumar,
- 4. Shri Justice Mohammed Shaffiq, and
- 5. Shri Justice J. Sathya Narayana Prasad.

On 21 November 2022, the Collegium of the Madras High Court unanimously recommended the above-named five Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of Tamil Nadu have concurred with the recommendation.

In order to ascertain the fitness and suitability of the abovenamed Additional Judges for being appointed as Permanent Judges, consultation has been held in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure with the Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the Madras High Court.

The Judgment Evaluation Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the judgments of the above-named Additional Judges has submitted its Report.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the abovenamed Additional Judges for their appointment as Permanent Judges, the Collegium has scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record including the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file. Having regard to all the relevant factors, the Collegium is of the view that (1) Mrs. Justice Sundaram Srimathy (2) Shri Justice D. Bharatha Chakravarthy (3) Shri Justice R. Vijayakumar (4) Shri Justice Mohammed Shaffiq & (5) Shri Justice J. Sathya Narayana Prasad, Additional Judges are suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges. In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that (1) Mrs. Justice Sundaram Srimathy (2) Shri Justice D. Bharatha Chakravarthy (3) Shri Justice R. Vijayakumar (4) Shri Justice Mohammed Shaffiq & (5) Shri Justice J. Sathya Narayana Prasad, Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Madras High Court against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

15 February 2023

(K. M. Joseph), J

Minister for Law & Justice.