

## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

The Collegium of the Supreme Court has recommended the names of two Additional Judges of the High Court for the State of Telangana, as permanent Judges of that High Court in the following terms:

- (i) Mr Justice Jaggannagari Sreenivasa Rao @ J. Srinivas Rao, and
- (ii) Mr Justice Namavarapu Rajeshwar Rao.

On 13 February 2024, the Collegium of the High Court for the State of Telangana unanimously recommended for appointment of the Additional Judges whose names are set out above as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor for the State of Telangana have conveyed their concurrence with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the High Court for the State of Telangana were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

A Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of



the above-named Additional Judges. The Committee has rated the quality of their judgments as "good".

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent Judges, we have scrutinized the material placed on record. We have duly considered the opinion of the consultee-Judges and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee. The Collegium is of the considered view that (i) Mr Justice Jaggannagari Sreenivasa Rao @ J. Srinivas Rao, and (ii) Mr Justice Namavarapu Rajeshwar Rao, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that (i) Mr Justice Jaggannagari Sreenivasa Rao @ J. Srinivas Rao, and (ii) Mr Justice Namavarapu Rajeshwar Rao, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court for the State of Telangana against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(BR Gavai), J

16 April 2024

2