## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following four Judicial Officers as Judges of the Orissa High Court:

- 1. Shri Satyanarayan Mishra
- 2. Shri Bibhu Prasad Routray
- 3. Shri Gautam Sharma
- 4. Dr. Akshaya Kumar Mishra

The above recommendation made by the then Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court on 18<sup>th</sup> May, 2018 has the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor for the State of Odisha.

For purpose of assessing merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record, including the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file. Having regard to the fact that first three recommendees viz., S/Shri (1) Satyanarayan Mishra, (2) Bibhu Prasad Routray, (3) Gautam Sharma, do not qualify the prevailing norms of eligibility, the Collegium is of the considered view that the proposal in respect of these three recommendees deserves to be sent back to the Chief Justice of the High Court for reconsideration by the present High Court Collegium at the appropriate time. The Collegium recommends accordingly.

As regards Dr. Akshaya Kumar Mishra, we have had the occasion to interact with him. On the basis of interaction and having regard to all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that Dr. Akshaya Kumar Mishra, is suitable for elevation for appointment as a Judge of the Orissa High Court.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Dr. Akshaya Kumar Mishra, Judicial Officer, be appointed as a Judge of the Orissa High Court against the service vacancy which occurred on 23<sup>rd</sup> January, 2015.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

