## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following seven Additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Kempaiah Somashekar
- 2. Smt. Justice K. Somappa Mudagal
- 3. Mr. Justice Sreenivas H. Kumar
- 4. Mr. Justice John Michael Cunha
- 5. Mr. Justice Basavaraj A. Patil
- 6. Mr. Justice N.K.Sudhindrarao
- 7. Dr. Justice H.B.P.Sastry

The Collegium of the Karnataka High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 27<sup>th</sup> June, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Government of Karnataka.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Karnataka High Court. Copies of letters of their opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26<sup>th</sup> October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

We have also taken note of certain complaints received in the office of Chief Justice of India making allegations against some of the above-named recommendees. On examination, we do not find any *prima facie* substance in these complaints, which deserve to be ignored.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the Collegium finds Mr. Justices (1) Kempaiah Somashekar, (2) Smt. K. Somappa Mudagal, (3) Sreenivas H. Kumar, (4) John Michael Cunha, (5) Basavaraj A. Patil, (6) N.K.Sudhindrarao, and (7) Dr. H.B.P.Sastry, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Kempaiah Somashekar, (2) Smt. K. Somappa Mudagal, (3) Sreenivas H. Kumar, (4) John Michael Cunha, (5) Basavaraj A. Patil, (6) N.K.Sudhindrarao, and (7) Dr. H.B.P.Sastry, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Karnataka High Court against the existing vacancies.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(Madan B. Lokur), J.

(Kurian Joseph), J.

October 09, 2018.