SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following four Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Ashok Kumar,
- 2. Mr. Justice Vivek Chaudhary,
- 3. Mr. Justice Saumitra Dayal Singh, and
- 4. Mr. Justice Akhilesh Chandra Sharma,

The Collegium of the Allahabad High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 13th February, 2018 has unanimously recommended the abovenamed Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Allahabad High Court. Copies of letters of their opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

Taking into consideration the material on record, including the recommendation of the High Court Collegium, views of our consultee-colleagues and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee, the Collegium finds all the above-named Additional Judges suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Ashok Kumar, (2) Vivek Chaudhary, (3) Saumitra Dayal Singh, and (4) Akhilesh Chandra Sharma, Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Allahabad High Court.

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(J. Chelameswar), J.

(Ranjan Gogoi), J.

March 06, 2018.