SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following six Additional Judges of the Patna High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Birendra Kumar,
- 2. Mr. Justice Arvind Srivastava,
- 3. Mr. Justice Vinod Kumar Sinha,
- 4. Mr. Justice Sanjay Priya,
- 5. Mr. Justice Arun Kumar, and
- 6. Mr. Justice Sanjay Kumar.

The Collegium of the Patna High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 15th January, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

Since Mr. Justice Arun Kumar (mentioned at SI. No. 5 above) is going to retire on attaining the age of superannuation on 21st August, 2018, the Collegium considers it appropriate to take up for consideration, for the present, only his case. The proposal pertaining to other Additional Judges whose current term would be expiring much later will be taken up for consideration at appropriate stage.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Government of Bihar.

In order to ascertain suitability of Mr. Justice Arun Kumar for being appointed as Permanent Judge, we have consulted our colleague who is conversant with the affairs of the Patna High Court. Copy of letter of his opinion received in this regard is placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the Collegium finds Mr. Justice Arun Kumar, Additional Judge, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judge.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend, for the present, that Mr. Justice Arun Kumar, Additional Judge be appointed as Permanent Judge of the Patna High Court against one of the existing vacancies.

