SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This relates to the proposal for appointment of following five Additional Judges of the Patna High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Birendra Kumar,
- 2. Mr. Justice Arvind Srivastava,
- 3. Mr. Justice Vinod Kumar Sinha,
- 4. Mr. Justice Sanjay Priya, and
- 5. Mr. Justice Sanjay Kumar.

The Collegium of the Patna High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 15th January, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Government of Bihar.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named Additional Judges, for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleague who is conversant with the affairs of the Patna High Court. Copy of letter of his opinion received in this regard is placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

We have also taken note of certain complaints received in the office of Chief Justice of India making allegations against some of the above-named recommendees. We have examined the complaints and do not find any *prima facie* substance in these complaints, which deserve to be ignored. We have also taken note of the issue of transfer of Mr. Justice

Birendra Kumar (mentioned at Sl. No.1 above). The same would be considered by the Collegium comprising the Chief Justice of India and four senior-most Judges of the Supreme Court in due course of time.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the Collegium finds Mr. Justices (1) Birendra Kumar, (2) Arvind Srivastava, (3) Vinod Kumar Sinha, (4) Sanjay Priya, and (5) Sanjay Kumar, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Birendra Kumar, (2) Arvind Srivastava, (3) Vinod Kumar Sinha, (4) Sanjay Priya, and (5) Sanjay Kumar, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Patna High Court against the existing vacancies.

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(Ranjan Gogoi), J.

(Madan B. Lokur), J.

August 08, 2018.