SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following eight Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Krishna Singh
- 2. Mr. Justice Rajiv Lochan Mehrotra
- 3. Mr. Justice Mahboob Ali
- 4. Mr. Justice Rang Nath Pandey
- 5. Mr. Justice Aniruddha Singh
- 6. Mr. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh-I
- 7. Mr. Justice Ifaqat Ali Khan
- 8. Mr. Justice Umesh Chandra Tripathi

The Collegium of the Allahabad High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 20th March, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

Since Mr. Justices (1) Krishna Singh and (2) Rajiv Lochan Mehrotra, (mentioned at Sl. Nos. 1 and 2 above) are going to retire on attaining the age of superannuation on 9th July, 2018 and 11th June, 2018 respectively, the Collegium considers it appropriate to take up for consideration, for the present, only their cases. The proposal pertaining to other Additional Judges whose current term would be expiring much later will be taken up for consideration at appropriate stage.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the State of Uttar Pradesh.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Allahabad High Court. Copies of letters of their opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments

of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the Collegium finds Mr. Justices (1) Krishna Singh and (2) Rajiv Lochan Mehrotra, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Krishna Singh and (2) Rajiv Lochan Mehrotra, Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Allahabad High Court against the existing vacancies.

