SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following ten Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Rajul Bhargava,
- 2. Mr. Justice Siddhartha Varma,
- 3. Smt. Justice Sangeeta Chandra,
- 4. Mr. Justice Daya Shankar Tripathi,
- 5. Mr. Justice Virendra Kumar-II,
- 6. Mr. Justice Shailendra Kumar Agrawal,
- 7. Mr. Justice Sanjay Harkauli,
- 8. Mr. Justice Krishna Pratap Singh,
- 9. Smt. Justice Rekha Dikshit, and
- 10. Mr. Justice Satya Narain Agnihotri

The Collegium of the Allahabad High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 3rd November, 2017 has unanimously recommended the abovenamed Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Allahabad High Court. Copies of letters of their opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the recommendation of the High Court Collegium, views of our consultee-colleagues and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee, the Collegium finds the above-named Additional Judges, except Mr. Justice Virendra Kumar-II, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges. We are of the view that the working of Mr. Justice Virendra Kumar-II as Additional Judge needs to be observed for some more time.

We have also gone through the observations of Department of Justice at pages 17-18/n with regard to the proposal for transfer of Smt. Justice Rekha Dikshit. The proposal for her transfer would be placed before the Collegium comprising the Chief Justice of India and four senior-most Judges of the Supreme Court in due course of time. Meanwhile, the proposal for her confirmation as Permanent Judge can be processed.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that:

(A) Mr. Justices (1) Rajul Bhargava, (2) Siddhartha Varma, (3) Smt. Sangeeta Chandra, (4) Daya Shankar Tripathi, (5) Shailendra Kumar Agrawal, (6) Sanjay Harkauli, (7) Krishna Pratap Singh, (8) Smt. Rekha Dikshit, and (9) Satya Narain Agnihotri, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Allahabad High Court; and

(B) Mr. Justice Virendra Kumar-II be appointed as Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court for a fresh term of one year w.e.f. 15th November, 2018.

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(J. Chelameswar), J.

(Ranjan Gogoi), J.

February 22, 2018.