ITEM NO.704 COURT NO.1 SECTION IV

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Civil Appeal No.2317/2011

THE STATE OF PUNJAB & ORS.

Appellant(s)

VERSUS

DAVINDER SINGH & ORS.

Respondent(s)

(With IA No.112133/2023 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS, IA No.84489/2020 - CORRECTION OF MISTAKES IN THE JUDGMENT, IA No.84490/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT, IA No.122267/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No.130804/2022 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No.120962/2020 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION, No.120949/2020 -INTERVENTION APPLICATION, IA No.44206/2021 INTERVENTION APPLICATION, IA No.32843/2021 **INTERVENTION** IA No.112120/2023 - INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT, APPLICATION, No.122265/2020 -INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT, IA No.130798/2022 INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT, IA No.85238/2021 INTERVENTION/ INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT, IMPLEADMENT, IΑ No.93549/2020 _ INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT, IA No.127436/2020 No.13049/2021 -INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT)

WITH C.A. No.6936/2015 (IV)

C.A. No.5597/2010 (IV)

W.P.(C) No.21/2023 (X)

(With IA No.187108/2022-CONDONATION OF DELAY IN REFILING/CURING THE DEFECTS)

C.A. No.5593/2010 (IV)

S.L.P.(C) No.30766/2010 (IV-B)

S.L.P.(C) No.8701/2011 (IV-B)

S.L.P.(C) No.36500-36501/2011 (IV-B)

T.C.(C) No.38/2011 (IV)

T.P.(C) No.464/2015 (XII)

(With IA No.85272/2020 - CORRECTION OF MISTAKES IN THE JUDGMENT)

W.P.(C) No.1477/2019 (X)

(With IA No. 193565/2019 - EX-PARTE STAY)

C.A. No.5586/2010 (IV)

```
C.A. No.5598/2010 (IV)
```

C.A. No.5595-5596/2010 (IV)

C.A. No.2324/2011 (IV)

(With FOR INTERVENTION APPLICATION ON IA /2010)

T.C.(C) No.37/2011 (IV)

C.A. No.5589/2010 (IV)

C.A. No.5600/2010 (IV)

C.A. No.5587/2010 (IV)

SLP(C) No.5454-5459/2011 (IV-B)

C.A. No.2318/2011 (IV)

C.A. No.289/2014 (IV)

Date: 12-10-2023 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE SANJAY KISHAN KAUL

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE SANJIV KHANNA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE B.R. GAVAI

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE SURYA KANT

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE J.B. PARDIWALA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE MANOJ MISRA

For Appellant(s)

Mr. Gurminder Singh, Sr. Adv., Adv.Gen. Punjab,

Mr. Shadan Farasat, AAG

Mr. Ajay Pal, AOR

Mr. Mayank Dahiya, Adv.

Ms. Sugandh Rathor, Adv.

Ms. Bhupinder, Adv.

Mr. V. Puneedhan, Adv.

Mr. Sandeep Rana, Adv.

Mr. Sameer Aslam, Adv.

Mr. S. Gowthaman, AOR

Ms. Uttara Babbar, AOR

Mr. Kamal Mohan Gupta, AOR

Mr. Satyendra Kumar, AOR

Ms. Roopa Paul, Adv.

Mr. Devendra Jha, Adv.

Mr. R.K. Mishra, Adv.

Ms. Vasundhara Rana, Adv.

Mr. K. Radhakrishnan, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Anandh Kannan N., AOR

Mr. R.K. Singh, Adv.

Mr. Neeraj Singh, Adv.

Mr. Kumar Gaurav, Adv.

Mr. P.S. Bhagat Singh, Adv.

Mr. V. Subramanian, Adv.

Mr. Ajay Chaudhary, Adv.

Mr. Ram Bhadauria, Adv.

Mr. Robin Khokhar, AOR

Mr. M.S. Ganesh, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Devendra Singh, AOR

Mr. K. Seshachary, Adv.

Mr. Sanchar Anand, Adv.

Mr. Anant Kumar Vatsya, Adv.

Mr. Karan Thakur, Adv.

Mr. Ajay Nain, Adv.

Mr. Rakesh Khanna, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Kaushal Yadav, AOR

Mr. Nandlal Kumar Mishra, Adv.

Ms. Rashmi Khanna, Adv.

Mr. Ram Kishor Singh Yadav, Adv.

Mr. Abhishek Yadav, Adv.

Dr. Ajay Kumar, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Kumar Visen, AOR

Ms. Suvarna Singh, Adv.

Mr. Manoj Swarup, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Rohit Kumar Singh, AOR

Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. B.K. Satija, AAG

Dr. Monika Gusain, Adv.

For Respondent(s)

Mr. R. Venkataramani, AG

Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG

Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv.

Mr. Kanu Agrawal, Adv.

Mr. Shantnu Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Digvijay Dam, Adv.

Mr. Madhav Sinhal, Adv.

Mrs. Naresh Bakshi, AOR

Mr. Vipin Kumar Jai, AOR

Mr. Tushar Bakshi, AOR

Mr. Shekhar Kumar, AOR

Mr. Satyendra Kumar, AOR

Ms. Roopa Paul, Adv.

Mr. Devendra Jha, Adv.

Mr. R.K. Mishra, Adv.

Ms. Vasundhara Rana, Adv.

Ms. Vasundhara, Adv.

Mr. Nidhesh Gupta, Sr. Adv.

Ms. S. Janani, AOR

Ms. Sharika Rai, Adv.

Ms. Japnet Kaur, Adv.

Ms. Vriti Gujral, Adv.

Ms. Japneet Kaur, Adv.

Mr. P. Soma Sundaram, AOR

Mr. V. K. Biju, AOR

Mrs. Ria Sachthey, Adv.

Mr. Chetanya Singh, Adv.

Mr. Shaji George, Adv.

Dr. Ranjeet Bharti, Adv.

Ms. Shalaka Srivastava, Adv.

Mr. Abhay Pratap Singh, Adv.

Mr. Vineet Kumar Singh, Adv.

Ms. Vijay Lakshmi, Adv.

Mr. Bankey Bihari Sharma, AOR

- Mr. Shakti Kanta Pattanaik, AOR
- Mr. Amit Anand Tiwari, AAG
- Ms. Purnima Krishna, AOR
- Mr. M.F. Philip, Adv.
- Mr. Karamveer Singh Yadav, Adv.
- Ms. Ranjeeta Rohatgi, AOR
- Ms. Uttara Babbar, AOR
- Mr. R.V. Kameshwaran, AOR
- Mr. Kuldip Singh, AOR
- Mr. Ravi Prakash, AOR
- Dr. K.S. Chauhan, Sr. Adv.
- Mr. Ajit Kumar Ekka, AOR
- Mr. Murari Lal, Adv.
- Mr. R.S.M. Kalky, Adv.
- Mr. S.P. Singh, Adv.
- Dr. K. Elumalai, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek Chauhan, Adv.
- Mr. Ajit Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. S. Gowthaman, AOR
- Mr. Ronak Karanpuria, AOR
- Mr. Krishan Kumar, AOR
- Mrs. Neetu Sharma, Adv.
- Ms. Zinnea Mehta, Adv.
- Mr. Nitin Pal, Adv.
- Mr. Shivam Pandey, Adv.
- Ms. Muskan Jain, Adv.
- Mr. S. Prabu Ramasubramanian, Adv.
- Mr. Raghunatha Sethupathy B, Adv.
- Mr. Bharathimohan M, Adv.
- Mr. Sabari Bala Pandian, Adv.
- Ms. Priya R, Adv.

Mr. A Manoj Kumar, Adv.

Mr. Santhosh K, Adv.

Mr. Avinash Kumar, Adv.

Mr. K. Paari Vendhan, AOR

Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG

Mr. Amrish Kumar, AOR

Mr. Colin Gonsalves, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Satya Mitra, AOR

Ms. Hetvi Patel, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Jain, AOR

Ms. Jyoti Mendiratta, AOR

Mr. Nidhesh Gupta, Sr. Adv.

Mr. G. Balaji, AOR

Ms. Vriti Gujral, Adv.

Ms. Japneet Kaur, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Kumar Visen, AOR

Mr. Rahul Gupta, AOR

Mr. Kamal Mohan Gupta, AOR

Mr. Aabhas Kshetarpal, Adv.

Mr. Neelaabh Bist, Adv.

Mr. Siddhartha Jha, AOR

Mr. Rakesh Dahiya, AOR

Mr. Rakesh Kr. Khanna, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Brij Bhushan, AOR

Mr. Abhimanyu Yadav, Adv.

Mr. Kaushal Yadav, AOR

Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, AOR

Mr. Jaideep Gupta, Sr. Adv.

Mr. D. Kumanan, AOR

Mr. Sheikh F Kalia, Adv.

Mrs. Deepa. S, Adv. Ms. Akanksha Mehta, Adv.

Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, AOR

Applicant-in-person

Mrs. Niranjana Singh, AOR

Mrs. Rekha Pandey, AOR

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

- On the request of Mr Tushar Mehta, Solicitor General, the Union of India is impleaded as a party.
- 2 Issue notice to the newly impleaded party.
- 3 Mr Tushar Mehta, Solicitor General, states that no further notice is required and waives service of notice.
- In order to facilitate the submissions before the Bench, it has been agreed that Mr Karan Sharma and Mr Ankit Swarup, counsel, shall act as the nodal counsel. They shall put together a common compilation of the submissions, pleadings, documents and precedents in terms of the Circular dated 22 August 2023 issued for regulating the course of submissions in larger Bench cases.
- The Registry shall provide the updated soft copy of the paper books to all AORs and nodal counsel on or before 31 October 2023.
- The nodal counsel shall prepare the soft copies of the common compilations on or before 30 November 2023. The common compilations shall be made available to all the parties. Written submissions shall be furnished to the nodal counsel on or before 14 December 2023. The compilations together

with the written submissions shall be in the electronic form and shall be emailed to the Court Master at cmvc.dyc@gmail.com on or before 15 December 2023.

7 List the matters for hearing on 17 January 2024 before an appropriate Bench.

(CHETAN KUMAR) A.R.-cum-P.S. (SAROJ KUMARI GAUR) Assistant Registrar