ITEM NO.1 COURT NO.2 SECTION PIL-W

## SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition (Civil) No.565/2012

NIPUN SAXENA & ANR.

Petitioner(s)

**VERSUS** 

UNION OF INDIA & ORS.

Respondent(s)

WITH W.P.(C) No. 568/2012 (PIL-W), W.P.(Crl.) No. 1/2013 (PIL-W) W.P.(C) No. 22/2013 (PIL-W), W.P.(C) No. 148/2013 (PIL-W) SLP(Crl.) No. 11188/2018 (II-A)

Date: 31-07-2019 These matters were called on for hearing today.

## CORAM:

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE S.A. BOBDE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE R. SUBHASH REDDY

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE B.R. GAVAI

## Counsel for the parties

Ms. Indira Jaising, Sr. Adv. (A.C.)

Mr. Purushottam Sharma Tripathi, AOR

Mr. Ravi Chandra Prakash, Adv.

Mr. Mukesh Kumar Singh, Adv.

Ms. Aanchal Singh, Adv.

Ms. Vani Vyas, Adv.

Mr. Mohit Kaushik, Adv.

Mr. Amit, Adv.

Mr. Ikshit Singhal, Adv.

## Petitioner-in-person

Mr. R. P. Gupta, AOR

Mr. E.C. Agrawala, AOR

Mr. Prashant Chaudhary, AOR

Mr. Ardhendumauli Kumar Prasad, AOR

Mr. Guntur Prabhakar, AOR

Ms. Sunita Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Mohan Prasad Gupta, Adv.

Mr. Shailendra Saini, Adv.

Mr. Gurmeet Singh Makker, AOR

Ms. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. R.R. Rajesh, Adv.

Mr. Raj Bahadur, Adv.

Ms. Saudamini Sharma, Adv.

Mr. G. S. Makker, AOR

Mr. B.V. Balaram Das, AOR

Mr. Harsh Parashar, AOR

Mr. M. Yogesh Kanna, AOR

Mr. S. Partha Sarathi, Adv.

Mr. S. Raja Rajeshwaran, Adv.

Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR

Mr. Chirag M. Shroff, AOR

Mr. Karan Bharihoke, Adv.

Ms. Zehra Khan, Adv.

Ms. Navkiran Bolay, Adv.

Mr. M. Shoeb Alam, AOR

Mr. Gopal Singh, AOR

Mr. Manish Kumar, Adv.

Mr. Shivam Singh, Adv.

Mr. Raghvendra Kumar, Adv.

For M/s Arputham Aruna And Co, AOR

Mr. V.G. Pragasam, AOR

Mr. S. Prabu Ramasubramanian, Adv.

Mr. S. manuraj, Adv.

Mr. V.N. Raghupathy, AOR

Mr. Md. Apzal Ansari, Adv.

Mr. Manender Pal Gupta, Adv.

Mr. Prakash Jadhav, Adv.

Mr. Gopal Singh, AOR

Mr. Manish Kumar, Adv.

Mr. Aniruddha P. Mayee, AOR

Ms. Pragati Neekhra, AOR

Mr. B. Balaji, AOR

Mr. S. Udaya Kumar Sagar, AOR

Ms. Swati Bhardwaj, Adv.

Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR

Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR

Mrs. Kirti Renu Mishra, AOR

Ms. Asha Gopalan Nair, AOR

Mr. Aviral Saxena, Adv.

Ms. Rachana Srivastava, AOR

Mr. Abhisth Kumar, AOR

Mr. K.V. Jagdishvaran, Adv.

Ms. G. Indira, AOR

Ms. Bina Madhavan, Adv.

For M/s Lawyer's Knit & Co.

Mr. Arun K. Sinha, AOR

Mr. T. G. Narayanan Nair, AOR

Mr. Ranjan Mukherjee, AOR

Mr. K.V. Kharlyngdoh, Adv.

Mr. Upendra Mishra, Adv.

Mr. Kamal Mohan Gupta, AOR

Mr. Shibashish Misra, AOR

Mr. G.N. Reddy, AOR

Ms. Sujatha Bagadhi, Adv.

Mr. T. Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy, Adv.

Mr. C.K. Sasi, AOR

Mr./Ms. Nayantara Roy, Adv.

Mr. Abdulla Naseeh VT, Adv.

Ms. Diksha Rai, AOR

Mr. Tapesh Kumar Singh, AOR

Mr. Aditya Pratap Singh, Adv.

Mr. Leishangthem Roshmani Kh, AOR

Ms. Anupama Ngangom, Adv.

Ms. Maibam Babina, Adv.

- Mr. Suhaan Mukerji, Adv.
- Ms. Astha Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Amit Verma, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek Manchanda, Adv.
- Ms. Kajal Dalal, Adv.
- Mr. Prastut Dalvi, Adv.
- Ms. Dimple Nagpal, Adv.
- Mr. Naveen Kumar, Adv.
- for M/S. PLR Chambers And Co., AOR
- Mr. Siddhesh Kotwal, Adv.
- Ms. Arshiya Ghose, Adv.
- Mr. Divyansh Tiwari, Adv.
- Mr. Sunny Choudhary, AOR
- Ms. Kaveri Krishna Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Hitesh Kumar Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Mridul Singh S., Adv.
- Ms. Abha R. Sharma, AOR
- Mr. Lakshmi Raman Singh, AOR
- Mr. Abhishek, AOR
- Mr. Milind Kumar, AOR
- Mr. Merusagar Samantray, AOR
- Ms. Ruchira Gupta, Adv.
- Mr. Santosh S. Rebello, Adv.
- Mr. Anurag Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Shishir Deshpande, AOR
- Mr. Sanjay Kumar Visen, AOR
- Ms. Kamakshi S. Mehlwal, AOR
- Ms. Garima Prashad, AOR.
- Mr. Abhinav Agrawal, Adv.
- Mr. Umesh Kumar Verma, Adv.
- Mr. Nishant R Katneshwarkar, AOR.
- Mr. Anoop Kandari, Adv.
- Mr. Vikas Mahajan, AAG.
- Mr. Anil Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. Vinod Sharma, AOR.
- Mrs. K Enatoli Sema, AOR
- Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv.

Mr. Anil Shrivastav, AOR.

Mr. Arvind Kumar Sharma, AOR

Mr. B. Krishna Prasad, AOR

Mr. Colin Gonsalves, Sr. Adv.

Ms. Aditi Gupta, Adv.

Mr. Satya Mitra, AOR

Dr. Rajesh Pandey, Adv.

Ms. Aswathi M.K., AOR

Mr. Manoj Selvaraj S., Adv.

Ms. Yogita Ahuja, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

We are informed that the respondent/s – Union of India has laid down the guidelines for preparing the medico-legal care for being procured for survivors/victims of sexual violence at the One Stop Crisis Centre when a case arises.

Accordingly, we direct all the States and the Union Territories to adopt the format and protocol of Detailed Reference Material for Standard Operating Procedures (SoPs) by the Ministry of Women and Child Development as published in the of January, 2017 and the Medico-Legal Care for month Survivors/Victims of Sexual Violence by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India, for one Stop Crisis Centres, and implement it while preparing a medico-legal report. The said documents also provide for standard operating procedures for the one Stop Crisis Centre.

It appears that none of the States and the Union Territories have any objection or suggestions in this regard. We accordingly direct all the States and the Union Territories to implement the aforesaid Standard Operating Procedures and medico-legal care for survivors/victims of sexual violence with immediate effect at One Stop Crisis Centres. All the States and the Union Territories shall also deal with the cases that come to the One Stop Crisis Centres accordingly.

We consider it appropriate to permit the petitioner viz., Nipun Saxena who is appearing in person to make a representation to the Union of India containing suggestions for regulating application based aggregator transport services like Ola, Uber, Meru, etc., particularly having regard to the safety of women and child passengers.

List these matters along with I.A. Nos.103062 and 103063 of 2018 on 04.09.2019. On that day, we shall hear the matter on the procedure of investigation relating to cases of sexual assault.

In the meantime, the Chief Secretaries/the Administrators of all the States and the Union Territories shall file their respective affidavit of compliance of this Order.

(SANJAY KUMAR-II)
COURT MASTER (SH)

(INDU KUMARI POKHRIYAL) ASSISTANT REGISTRAR